Follow up emails & open-sourcing my CRM

Hi,

Below is my yearly goal scoreboard. No change from last week.

This week, I’m making my process more open-source for you. I want to share as much of my process and learnings as I can. So, I decided to anonymize my most promising business acquisition leads and make them public!

I have 5,000+ leads in my CRM, but only 6 in the “relationship building” stage. This stage is reserved for businesses I’ve vetted and would pursue if given the opportunity. If you’ve followed along for a while, you’ll recognize some of these businesses.

My hope is this will make my process more transparent and much easier to follow. In the future, when I reference a business, I can link directly to it so you can refresh on the high-level details. Let me know what you think.

Let’s jump into the weekly update.

This week’s update

  • Sending follow-up emails

  • Screenshots from 3 replies

Follow-up emails

If you’ve been reading for a few weeks, you know I made a change to keep track of the highest potential businesses in my CRM.

The pivot was to put even more focus on finding the 💎s.

It paid off this week, as I went back and sent follow-up emails to the gems I’ve emailed and didn’t get a response from. They have high potential, so they’re worth tracking down.

I send unique first emails to all leads, but the follow up emails I sent were the same for each business. They looked like this.

I sent ~15 follow up emails out and got several responses:

  • A virtual training academy for dogs

  • A job board for a very niche industry

  • A label manufacturer for a niche product industry

Here are screenshots of the responses.

A virtual dog training school

I really like this one, so I hope I get the chance to speak to him. Haven’t heard back on my response yet.

A label manufacturer

30-year-old business with original customers, a tired website, and a tired owner. Cha-ching!

Love the all caps, centered and bolded THANK YOU ! at the end of the email 😂 

This business has all the signs I’m looking for. I’m going to try very hard to build a relationship with this owner — even if he has plans to transfer it to his kids.

A niche job board

This one’s interesting. This a job board for a niche industry that almost everyone is familiar with (is that possible?).

The person is world-renowned within the industry. Apparently, he’s exceptionally busy. He said he’d like to speak to me but needed to book on a Sunday morning in two weeks. Ha!

More on that one in a couple weeks.

I really enjoy sharing these updates and connecting with people all over the country who are on their on journeys.

My hope is my search is an encouragement to you one way or another.

Let’s make it a great week.

Mike