Updates & My Strategy, Visualized

Web dev, callback, follow-up strategies

Good morning!

I’m going to do an email in the next couple of weeks about the questions I get asked most. If you have a question on my process, plan, or philosophy, reply here and I will add it to that email.

I’ve had a busy week with back-and-forths with biz owners. I’m excited for this update!

Today I’ll discuss

•Update on web development business

•The call that made my week

•My unconventional outreach strategy, visualized

Web development business

Two weeks ago I mentioned a promising web development agency I was talking to.

I’ve talked to the owner over several long emails. Here’s a quick recap on the business:

  • Based in Virginia

  • 2 employees

  • Main business is new, custom web development ($15k/mo)

  • Side business hosting Wordpress sites (80 clients)

The owner of this business essentially said: I can’t afford to retire off the sale of the business, and I don’t have another way to make money.

So, I had what I thought was a great idea: I buy the hosting portfolio only. He’d keep the agency, its employees, and his primary income source. I’d get what I was most interested in anyway: 80 clients on retainer.

There’s a lot of opportunity with his hosting contracts.

  • 80 clients

  • Charging $30-$60 per month

  • Can execute work for all 80 clients over 1-2 days per month

My post-acquisition plan is simple:

  • Partner with 2-3 Wordpress killers on Upwork (there are hundreds)

  • Increase hosting costs

  • Talk to clients to find other service opportunities. Offer more marketing-adjacent services (email marketing, graphic design, paid ads)

It’s not to be, for now. He’s simply not ready to sell.

We left the conversation amicably, and I imagine he’ll reach out in the next year as he thinks about it more.

I never try to be in a hurry with sellers. I’m approaching them cold and off market, with the hope that at some point I get the chance to acquire the business from a relationship, not a marketplace. No one reads one email and decides to part with their business-baby.

These things take time.

I sent a follow-up, handwritten thank you note, too.

This strategy is working

I got a call from a number I didn’t recognize. Ignored it then Googled the number. I quickly recognized the Google result as a business I targeted, and I called them back.

It went like this:

Hi, this is Mike McLean. I think I just missed a call from this number.

Hi, Mike. This is [redacted]. I’m calling to let you know I got your letter. Who writes like that anymore? I just want you to know, you are certainly on our radar now.

The people (husband and wife were both on the call!) on the other end were 80-somethings, owners of my favorite businesses I’ve found in the search so far.

It’s a 35-year-old business on a two-word domain that, alone, is probably six figures. As you might imagine, the website is really underoptimized in a premium, niche space.

We went on to have a 22-minute conversation. They vetted me as a potential owner and shared some high-level details on the business.

And then they abruptly ended our conversation to pickup an incoming call from a customer in California - ha.

I don’t know if I’ll get a shot to acquire this business in the near future or ever. But, it was really exciting to see my strategy resonate with owners of a fantastic business. It felt like I picked a lock.

My strategy, visualized

Here you can see my email history with this business. I started with a cold email in August, and didn’t get a response. After following up, getting rejected, and sending a hand-written letter, I finally got a call in October (referenced above).

This made me feel great, because…

There’s a giant, opportunity-sized hole in the market

Is anyone else going to find and work this lead?

Professional searchers ignore this type of business. A sub $1m EBITDA business just doesn’t fit the PE model (usually owner operated, too-small upside).

Amateur searchers don’t know where look for a business like this. So they’re stuck looking on Microacquire or Flippa, which is like buying investment properties on Zillow.

As for me, I’m content to carve out a niche in this network. A $300k EBITDA, 30 year-old EBITDA business with no innovation since ~2010…? That is what I consider the makings of a home run deal.

This call made my week because it shows this strategy works, and reconfirmed that I’m on to to something.

I write this weekly email because it helps me process my week and provides an outlet to connect with some great folks who are also interested in this stuff.

So, here’s a handy referral link if you want to share with a friend/sibling/parent/boss who thinks finding overlooked business online is cool.

Sorry, no enticing giveaways for now, ha!

Have a killer week!

Mike